You don’t have to be a long time Tinder user to have some messages or entire conversations that you’d like deleted and forever forgotten. However, it’s not extremely easy to delete messages in Tinder, but we’re here to lend you a helping hand tell you how to do it.
And if you are going on a Spring cleaning spell and you have more apps where you want to delete old or horrible (or both) conversations, we’ve also written a guide on how to delete messages on Facebook Messenger.
Now back to today’s topic: how to delete messages on Tinder?
As I told you, it’s not an easy thing to achieve and unfortunately Tinder doesn’t allow you to delete individual messages in a conversation, no matter what.
However, you do have the option to delete entire conversations and that is a lot easier to be done. It’s a bit drastic, as you will see, but extremely easy to do.
So, in order to delete an entire conversation in Tinder, all that you have to do is to simply go to the conversation you want to delete and tap the menu button in the upper right corner.
There, you will have the option to Unmatch the user. As soon as you do so, you will obviously no longer be a match with them and the entire conversation will be deleted.
The good news is that the conversation will be deleted on their device as well, so if you said something, sent something or did something you now wish you hadn’t, you can make it magically disappear and hope that the other person didn’t make any copies.
There are voices that claim that Tinder stores these messages on their servers for legal reasons, but they do not access them or read them or check them out or anything like this. So by unmatching somebody, you will delete that conversation completely.
As I was saying earlier, it’s a bit of a drastic move and it’s permanent. Even if you match the same person again in the future, you will start over. All the previous conversations will be gone.
However, chances are that if you want to delete some messages from a conversation, you no longer want to be a match with that person, so hopefully it’s not that much of a big deal. It’s the only way to do it at the moment, though without deleting your account.
Because you also have this option: if you completely delete your Tinder account (so not just uninstall the Tinder app, but delete your entire account), all the stored conversations and matches will be lost and even if you create a new one, you will start from scratch.
This is even more drastic than the previous method and this DOES NOT delete the conversations on your matches devices!
And this is it! You know now how to delete messages – or, better said, how to delete entire conversations on Tinder and get rid of the things you said or did and never want to be reminded about. Pretty easy, after all!
Now only if Tinder could somehow work a bit of magic and let us delete individual messages… that would be even better!