Until the release of Windows 7, the System Restore was a feature not many people liked because it didn’t really let the user know what to will he or she be restoring to: installed programs and drivers could’ve been lost in the process while other unwanted ones – restored. It was usually a gamble and, even though as a last resort it paid off to use the System Restore, users were generally left frustrated.

However, with Windows 7 things change as System Restore becomes a more user-friendly feature that everybody will be able to use without a problem: it now tells exactly which applications will be restored and which ones deactivated and we’ll finally know exactly what will happen to our system after we press the button. Check out this handy guide to using Windows 7’s System Restore to know everything about it!

But first, let’s see how to create a System Restore Point in Windows 7!

It is very important to create them regularly (especially before installing batches of new software) since one little System Restore Point might be the difference between having to reinstall Windows 7 completely or simply clicking a button and carrying on. Here is how to create a System Restore Point in Windows 7:

1. Click Start and right click Computer, then select Properties. Click on System Protection in the left sidebar.

2. In the new window, click on “Create”. Give any name to the restore point and click “Create” again. In a few seconds, the new System Restore Point will be created.

In case you will have any problems, you will be able to restore your system to a previous point and Windows 7 will also tell you what applications and/or drivers (if any) will be deleted or re-installed.

Here is how to perform a System Restore in Windows 7:

1. Click on Start and right click Computer, then select Properties. Click on System Protection in the left sidebar.

2. In the new window, click on the System Restore button as shown below:

system restore 01

3. Click next and check the “Show more restore points” option then choose a specific System Restore point and click on the “Scan for affected programs”.

5. A new window will run a check on your system and you will be told as shown below what programs and drivers (if any) will be deleted or restored.

6. If you see nothing wrong there, close the window and click next then Finish.

Voila! You have restored your system to a previous state and you know exactly what things have been changed!

LEAVE A REPLY